Ranged item trigger/ability

Do you need World Editor help? Ask here!
Before making a new topic:
First, check if your question has already been answered in the Tutorials section.
If you didn't find a solution, use the search function.
If searching didn't help either, you can make a new topic.

Topic title & content:
You must use a descriptive title. (Help plz is not good) (Need help with Dialog buttons is good)
Go into much detail when posting. You should post attachments. Like screenshots of the problem, the map you are making, replays of the error. Or you could even make a screencast (video) of your problem and upload it here.

Spelling:
Grammar seems to be a serious problem amongst teenagers, so use a spell checker or you will get no love.
Read your posts twice, before pressing the reply button.
And do not use profanity. Chatspeak (y r u nub) and Leetspeak (1 C4N S33 H4X) are not welcome here either.

Only World Editor related questions are allowed here!
(Click for Battle.net help) (Click for World Editor help)

Ranged item trigger/ability

New postby ikillforeyou on Mon Mar 30, 2009 5:40 pm

Hi, i've been recently working on a bow item.. this is what i have so far
i have an attachment (unimportant)
i have a trigger for the attachment (also unimportant)
And i have a bow item

What i want is to have the orb of fire fire spell thingy that can attack ground aswell, is there a possible way to do this? Thanks.

Refresh, here, i have figured out some of them
Art-Projectile art=Archer/hypogryph rider Etc

Stats-Targets allowed Ground, air, ward (this is what it is normolly)

so how do i make it so the unit that picks up the orb of fire has ranged attack vs ground aswell?
ikillforeyou
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat Nov 22, 2008 4:10 pm

Re: Ranged item trigger/ability

New postby 3ICE on Mon Mar 30, 2009 9:00 pm

t_uni Unit - Replace (triggering unit) with "The Same Unit But With Ranged Attack Enabled".
ImageImageImageImageImage
Image
ImageImage
User avatar
3ICE
Admin
 
Posts: 2359
Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2008 11:34 pm
Location: Hungary
Realm: US East
Account: 3ICE
Clan: 3ICE

Re: Ranged item trigger/ability

New postby ikillforeyou on Thu Apr 02, 2009 11:13 am

there has to be another way then that like in chlw (Custom hero line wars) there is an ability called eagle eye that makes you have added range.. but i dont think its plausible for them to make like 50 other heros (There is 3 levels of the ability) just for one ability, dont you?
ikillforeyou
 
Posts: 30
Joined: Sat Nov 22, 2008 4:10 pm

Re: Ranged item trigger/ability

New postby 3ICE on Fri Apr 03, 2009 12:07 pm

No, its triggered in hlw like this:
Create a dummy ability that players can learn
Create an Upgrade (tech) that will actually increase sight range in the background.
Write some jass.

Listen to the "Unit learns an ability" event: TriggerRegisterUnitEvent(t,u,EVENT_UNIT_HERO_SKILL)
Translate ability levels into integers with GetUnitAbilityLevel()
Then update the level of Range-Tech: SetPlayerTechResearched(p,'tech',x)

p.s.: I didn't actually look at how they did it in hlw, but the way I described above would be the method of preference for me.
ImageImageImageImageImage
Image
ImageImage
User avatar
3ICE
Admin
 
Posts: 2359
Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2008 11:34 pm
Location: Hungary
Realm: US East
Account: 3ICE
Clan: 3ICE


Return to HELP



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 18 guests

cron