Map Convertion

Do you need World Editor help? Ask here!
Before making a new topic:
First, check if your question has already been answered in the Tutorials section.
If you didn't find a solution, use the search function.
If searching didn't help either, you can make a new topic.

Topic title & content:
You must use a descriptive title. (Help plz is not good) (Need help with Dialog buttons is good)
Go into much detail when posting. You should post attachments. Like screenshots of the problem, the map you are making, replays of the error. Or you could even make a screencast (video) of your problem and upload it here.

Spelling:
Grammar seems to be a serious problem amongst teenagers, so use a spell checker or you will get no love.
Read your posts twice, before pressing the reply button.
And do not use profanity. Chatspeak (y r u nub) and Leetspeak (1 C4N S33 H4X) are not welcome here either.

Only World Editor related questions are allowed here!
(Click for Battle.net help) (Click for World Editor help)

Map Convertion

New postby ImaGe on Wed Aug 26, 2009 10:19 pm

I recently got TFT and wanted to upgrade some of my older maps. Mostly Terrain changes and stuff. But to make that map a RoC Map again, what would I have to do? I've looked it up on Google, but I can't really find a working converter of any type. I've tried Ultimate Map SLK Optimizer and that just gave me tons of crashes. I tried a different one, too. Don't remember the name of it, but it didn't do anything. And I'm running Vista, which I don't think matters all that much. But thanks for the help.

-Zach
ImaGe
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Aug 23, 2009 8:17 pm

Re: Map Convertion

New postby samtre on Thu Aug 27, 2009 12:20 am

you could try this:

click Save as and type .w3m after your map name
samtre
 
Posts: 82
Joined: Thu Nov 27, 2008 6:43 am

Re: Map Convertion

New postby 3ICE on Thu Aug 27, 2009 1:27 pm

samtreclick Save as and type .w3m after your map name
fail.

EDIT: Please follow these instructions:
  1. Open the World Editor
  2. Open YourMap.w3x
  3. Click Scenario
  4. Click Map Description...
  5. Highlight everything in the textbox under Expansion Required: Yes
  6. Copy to your clipboard (CTRL + C)
  7. Paste it here (as a new post) (CTRL + V)
  8. Wait for my reply
EDIT2: The information in that textbox will give you clues as to what causes your map to be TFT.
ImageImageImageImageImage
Image
ImageImage
User avatar
3ICE
Admin
 
Posts: 2359
Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2008 11:34 pm
Location: Hungary
Realm: US East
Account: 3ICE
Clan: 3ICE

Re: Map Convertion

New postby ImaGe on Thu Aug 27, 2009 5:28 pm

- Custom ability data have been specified (Object Editor)
- Expansion-only units are being used
- Expansion-only custom data values are being used (Object Editor)
- Expansion-only trigger functions, types, or values are being used (Trigger Editor)
- Custom gameplay constants have been specified (Advanced->Gameplay Constants)

I don't know why I have "Expansion-only units are being used" because I'm not using any. But thanks, again

~Zach
ImaGe
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Aug 23, 2009 8:17 pm

Re: Map Convertion

New postby 3ICE on Thu Aug 27, 2009 6:20 pm

Well, you've got a lot of deleting ahead of you if you want to make that map RoC-compatible again.
ImageImageImageImageImage
Image
ImageImage
User avatar
3ICE
Admin
 
Posts: 2359
Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2008 11:34 pm
Location: Hungary
Realm: US East
Account: 3ICE
Clan: 3ICE

Re: Map Convertion

New postby ImaGe on Thu Aug 27, 2009 6:27 pm

There's no other way?
ImaGe
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Aug 23, 2009 8:17 pm

Re: Map Convertion

New postby 3ICE on Thu Aug 27, 2009 6:52 pm

There is a way. Didn't you notice that all my RoC maps contain TFT features?

This "way" I am talking about is a bit too advanced for you.
ImageImageImageImageImage
Image
ImageImage
User avatar
3ICE
Admin
 
Posts: 2359
Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2008 11:34 pm
Location: Hungary
Realm: US East
Account: 3ICE
Clan: 3ICE

Re: Map Convertion

New postby ImaGe on Thu Aug 27, 2009 6:57 pm

How would you know whether it's too advanced for me? Just because I'm JUST getting TFT doesn't mean I'm incapable of learning new things.
ImaGe
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Aug 23, 2009 8:17 pm

Re: Map Convertion

New postby 3ICE on Thu Aug 27, 2009 6:59 pm

No, it is too advanced for me to write down in a simple forum post. Too much information, too many things to tell. My attention span is short tonight. The weather is hot and I was working all day. (Yes, physical work!)

EDIT: I do, however, have planned for quite some time to write a tutorial on how to do this. Once it is complete...
ImageImageImageImageImage
Image
ImageImage
User avatar
3ICE
Admin
 
Posts: 2359
Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2008 11:34 pm
Location: Hungary
Realm: US East
Account: 3ICE
Clan: 3ICE

Re: Map Convertion

New postby ImaGe on Thu Aug 27, 2009 7:02 pm

Alright, I guess my map can hold off until then, or just be released on TFT.
Thanks for the help, 3ICE.
ImaGe
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Aug 23, 2009 8:17 pm

Next

Return to HELP



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 26 guests

cron