Need help importing 'abilitydata.slk'

Do you need World Editor help? Ask here!
Forum rules
Before making a new topic:
First, check if your question has already been answered in the Tutorials section.
If you didn't find a solution, use the search function.
If searching didn't help either, you can make a new topic.

Topic title & content:
You must use a descriptive title. (Help plz is not good) (Need help with Dialog buttons is good)
Go into much detail when posting. You should post attachments. Like screenshots of the problem, the map you are making, replays of the error. Or you could even make a screencast (video) of your problem and upload it here.

Spelling:
Grammar seems to be a serious problem amongst teenagers, so use a spell checker or you will get no love.
Read your posts twice, before pressing the reply button.
And do not use profanity. Chatspeak (y r u nub) and Leetspeak (1 C4N S33 H4X) are not welcome here either.

Only World Editor related questions are allowed here!
(Click for Battle.net help) (Click for World Editor help)
P2P
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Jul 16, 2010 10:33 pm

Need help importing 'abilitydata.slk'

Unread post by P2P »

I have a 'locust' trigger for RoC, but it won't work on RoC without me importing something called 'abilitydata.slk' and unfortunately I wouldn't know where to get this 'abilitydata.slk' or how to import it. I know this is all possible because every RoC maze maker has it in their mazes. Can you help?

User avatar
3ICE
Admin
Posts: 2491
Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2008 11:34 pm
Realm: Europe
Account: 3ICE
Clan: 3ICE
Location: Hungary
Contact:

Re: Need help importing 'abilitydata.slk'

Unread post by 3ICE »

Copy
War3x.mpq\Units\AbilityData.slk
to
YourMap.w3m\Units\AbilityData.slk

Locust is a TFT-only ability. I see no reason why it should work for people who don't have TFT, but apparently it does. I have tried it on a clean install of RoC.

EDIT: You probably only need this one line:
Aloc:Aloc:Locust:1:0:0:0:unit:undead:0:1:0:0:0:_:0:0:0:0:0:-:-:-:-:-:-:-::-:-:-:-:-:-:-:-:-:-:-:-::-:-:-:-:-:-:-:-:-:-:-:-::-:-:-:-:-:-:-:-:-:-:-:-::1

(Extract Units\AbilityData.slk from war3.mpq or War3Patch.mpq, add the line, and import it to your map. Make sure the respective fields have the respective values. Blizz might have changed the slk format between expansions.)
ImageImageImageImageImage
Image
ImageImage

P2P
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Jul 16, 2010 10:33 pm

Re: Need help importing 'abilitydata.slk'

Unread post by P2P »

Well, it is indeed a TFT only ability. I don't know if the ability works on RoC for people who don't have TFT, but I do know that there are several Locust Triggers that make Locust work on RoC for people who don't have TFT.

Carlos
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jul 17, 2010 10:32 pm

Re: Need help importing 'abilitydata.slk'

Unread post by Carlos »

Yes locust works fine with people that don't have TFT.
Mark make sure you use the correct path... Units\AbilityData.slk
Attachments
AbilityData.slk
(191.66 KiB) Downloaded 609 times

User avatar
3ICE
Admin
Posts: 2491
Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2008 11:34 pm
Realm: Europe
Account: 3ICE
Clan: 3ICE
Location: Hungary
Contact:

Re: Need help importing 'abilitydata.slk'

Unread post by 3ICE »

How do you know his name is Mark?
ImageImageImageImageImage
Image
ImageImage

Carlos
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jul 17, 2010 10:32 pm

Re: Need help importing 'abilitydata.slk'

Unread post by Carlos »

3ICE wrote:How do you know his name is Mark?
I gave him a keylogger so i got all his info! .......Jk
He ask me in the wc3 chat lobby while i was afk and when i got back he was gone and after that i went to check out some wc3 websites like hiveworkshop, wc3c.net, wc3helper and then i got to this website and saw the post... and i was guessing it was him.
We are wc3 friends so know his name.

Sorry for the long respond just haven't been on for a while.
Also for my bad English.

User avatar
3ICE
Admin
Posts: 2491
Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2008 11:34 pm
Realm: Europe
Account: 3ICE
Clan: 3ICE
Location: Hungary
Contact:

Re: Need help importing 'abilitydata.slk'

Unread post by 3ICE »

Yea Locust works fine with people that doesn't have tft.
Make sure you use the correct path... Units\AbilityData.slk

The great draft takeover! Originally drafted on 2010/07/18 04:37:36 by Carlos(801) Never posted. Until now. :)
ImageImageImageImageImage
Image
ImageImage

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 17 guests