Page 7 of 9

Re: Flying Unit Question

Posted: Sun Mar 27, 2011 9:34 am
by 3ICE
Open the map I made and find out for yourself.
I used a catapult. It travels on foot yet I can make it fly just the same thanks to the Crow Form hack.

What does jasshelper have to do with me being lazy? I didn't get it to work, because I didn't want to. Too much effort for too little gain. It is not impossible, other people have already done it.

Re: Flying Unit Question

Posted: Sun Mar 27, 2011 10:11 am
by EqualiseR
What exactly is the point of the Crow Form hack? Like, I know it can make units fly and what not but what's the difference than just making the movement type - flying?

Re: Flying Unit Question

Posted: Sun Mar 27, 2011 10:23 am
by 3ICE
Walking animation != flying animation.
Flying units pivot when turning, walking units don't.
Walking units don't adjust their height gradually over cliffs, flying units do.
And the list goes on...

EDIT: Don't question common techniques, just follow them. You will be a zealot/acolyte in no time!

Re: Flying Unit Question

Posted: Sun Mar 27, 2011 10:30 am
by EqualiseR
Okay so the trigger should be as follows, correct?

Time - Elapsed Game time is 1.00 Second.
Unit - Add Ability - Crow Form
Unit - Remove Ability - Crow Form

Re: Flying Unit Question

Posted: Sun Mar 27, 2011 10:32 am
by 3ICE
Yep. But why wait a whole second? Try map initialization or if thats a no go; 0.01 sec.

Re: Flying Unit Question

Posted: Sun Mar 27, 2011 10:35 am
by EqualiseR
Well, that was just an example.

Anyways, I tested it on my airplane map and with the Crow Form hack, you are able to fly but you still technically can't fly over cliffs because you just stop in mid-air as if you were a ground unit walking into the cliff.

Re: Flying Unit Question

Posted: Sun Mar 27, 2011 10:41 am
by 3ICE
If the unit has pathing problems, you have to use the Locust hack as well.
Take a look at a jump system and see how it works: http://www.google.com/search?q=vjass+jump

EDIT: See also: Post 3017

{This will save you a lot of work...}
EDIT2: Or you could just use my sliding system (Might have to turn on realistic mode.) for flying the airplane/warthog/whatever, because if you move the unit directly with SetUnitX() and SetUnitY() it ignores all pathing checks. And it is even faster than the standard "Move unit instantly" GUI trigger action.

Re: Flying Unit Question

Posted: Sun Mar 27, 2011 10:52 am
by EqualiseR
Do you have your realistic skating system available for download?

Re: Flying Unit Question

Posted: Sun Mar 27, 2011 11:29 am
by 3ICE
Of course. :)
It is on the main page: http://3ice.hu/ (Or here: http://3ice.hu/slide/)


EDIT: Don't forget the FAQ!
Q: I heard there was a cool realistic mode you invented!
A: Yes, remove the line "call IssueImmediateOrder(u,"stop")"
from the "Slide" trigger and let the result amuse you.
EDIT2: I fixed a bug I overlooked in my AutoJumpVehicles map.
No, it still does not work, this is just a small bugfix. p3065#attachment

Re: Flying Unit Question

Posted: Mon Mar 28, 2011 3:43 pm
by EqualiseR
Alright so I have yet another question, when make a unit's movement type flying, such as the warthog, whenever it turns via the left arrow key and the trigger (Every 0.0x seconds -- make unit x face angle (facing of unit x + 4) over 0.00 seconds), the vehicle turns half sideways as in it's always tilted on whatever side its turning. After changing the movement type to 'Foot', this no longer occurs. However, I am trying to make it where the vehicle can drive off the edge and in which case the vehicle dies. And, with this being said, the vehicle is unable to drive off the edge. And I am in no way shape or form changing the movement type back to 'Fly' as flying units (even if their flying height is 0) always turn really awkward, especially with a vehicle model.

I tried using the Crow Form hack, and like I said before, the vehicle is able to fly but it is unable to fly or drive over cliffs. I also tried adding the Locust hack, and it is still unable to drive off the edge unless I make the movement type 'Fly'.

Is there any way to fix this?