Making new units be built by a Comp controlled barracks.

Do you need World Editor help? Ask here!
Before making a new topic:
First, check if your question has already been answered in the Tutorials section.
If you didn't find a solution, use the search function.
If searching didn't help either, you can make a new topic.

Topic title & content:
You must use a descriptive title. (Help plz is not good) (Need help with Dialog buttons is good)
Go into much detail when posting. You should post attachments. Like screenshots of the problem, the map you are making, replays of the error. Or you could even make a screencast (video) of your problem and upload it here.

Spelling:
Grammar seems to be a serious problem amongst teenagers, so use a spell checker or you will get no love.
Read your posts twice, before pressing the reply button.
And do not use profanity. Chatspeak (y r u nub) and Leetspeak (1 C4N S33 H4X) are not welcome here either.

Only World Editor related questions are allowed here!
(Click for Battle.net help) (Click for World Editor help)

Re: Making new units be built by a Comp controlled barracks.

New postby Darktiger138 on Fri Apr 13, 2012 8:50 pm

Never mind, I got it to work without Boolean variables.
Spoiler:
Spoiler 1
Spoiler:
Spoiler 2
Spoiler:
Spoiler 3
Spoiler:
Spoiler 4
Spoiler:
Spoiler 5
Darktiger138
 
Posts: 113
Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2012 2:48 pm
Location: New Zealand
Realm: US East
Account: Darktiger138
Clan: THP

Re: Making new units be built by a Comp controlled barracks.

New postby 3ICE on Fri Apr 13, 2012 8:59 pm

So you did want those quests to show up!
ImageImageImageImageImage
Image
ImageImage
User avatar
3ICE
Admin
 
Posts: 2126
Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2008 11:34 pm
Location: Hungary
Realm: US East
Account: 3ICE
Clan: 3ICE

Re: Making new units be built by a Comp controlled barracks.

New postby Darktiger138 on Fri Apr 13, 2012 9:04 pm

I didn't really care whether they showed up.
Spoiler:
Spoiler 1
Spoiler:
Spoiler 2
Spoiler:
Spoiler 3
Spoiler:
Spoiler 4
Spoiler:
Spoiler 5
Darktiger138
 
Posts: 113
Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2012 2:48 pm
Location: New Zealand
Realm: US East
Account: Darktiger138
Clan: THP

Re: Making new units be built by a Comp controlled barracks.

New postby 3ICE on Fri Apr 13, 2012 9:07 pm

So why do you insist on using quests instead of booleans? The boolean variable type is preferred, because it is faster, takes up less memory, is easier to work with, etc.
ImageImageImageImageImage
Image
ImageImage
User avatar
3ICE
Admin
 
Posts: 2126
Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2008 11:34 pm
Location: Hungary
Realm: US East
Account: 3ICE
Clan: 3ICE

Re: Making new units be built by a Comp controlled barracks.

New postby Darktiger138 on Fri Apr 13, 2012 9:11 pm

Because I don't understand it, to me it just means True or False, that is all, I don't get how you can assign something to something that can mean only 1 of 2 things, and also because I couldn't find the Function that I wanted when the Variables were Boolean type.
Spoiler:
Spoiler 1
Spoiler:
Spoiler 2
Spoiler:
Spoiler 3
Spoiler:
Spoiler 4
Spoiler:
Spoiler 5
Darktiger138
 
Posts: 113
Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2012 2:48 pm
Location: New Zealand
Realm: US East
Account: Darktiger138
Clan: THP

Re: Making new units be built by a Comp controlled barracks.

New postby 3ICE on Fri Apr 13, 2012 9:24 pm

Quest Enabled = Boolean True
Quest Disabled = Boolean False
Attachments
It is there, you just have to look closely.png
It is there, you just have to look closely.png (7.03 KiB) Viewed 2341 times
ImageImageImageImageImage
Image
ImageImage
User avatar
3ICE
Admin
 
Posts: 2126
Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2008 11:34 pm
Location: Hungary
Realm: US East
Account: 3ICE
Clan: 3ICE

Re: Making new units be built by a Comp controlled barracks.

New postby Darktiger138 on Fri Apr 13, 2012 9:28 pm

But then you cant make

t_set Set Spawn=(Last created quest)

which means that the Spawn variable would be useless.....
Spoiler:
Spoiler 1
Spoiler:
Spoiler 2
Spoiler:
Spoiler 3
Spoiler:
Spoiler 4
Spoiler:
Spoiler 5
Darktiger138
 
Posts: 113
Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2012 2:48 pm
Location: New Zealand
Realm: US East
Account: Darktiger138
Clan: THP

Re: Making new units be built by a Comp controlled barracks.

New postby 3ICE on Fri Apr 13, 2012 9:35 pm

Yes. And it is a useless variable.

Quests are not for that. They are for putting things in the F9 menu, like so:
Attachments
Quests are not what you think they are.jpg
Quests are not what you think they are.jpg (163 KiB) Viewed 2324 times
ImageImageImageImageImage
Image
ImageImage
User avatar
3ICE
Admin
 
Posts: 2126
Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2008 11:34 pm
Location: Hungary
Realm: US East
Account: 3ICE
Clan: 3ICE

Re: Making new units be built by a Comp controlled barracks.

New postby Darktiger138 on Fri Apr 13, 2012 9:39 pm

Yes, but I know how to make the quest variables work for me, I dont know how to make Boolean variables work...
Spoiler:
Spoiler 1
Spoiler:
Spoiler 2
Spoiler:
Spoiler 3
Spoiler:
Spoiler 4
Spoiler:
Spoiler 5
Darktiger138
 
Posts: 113
Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2012 2:48 pm
Location: New Zealand
Realm: US East
Account: Darktiger138
Clan: THP

Previous

Return to HELP



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron