StarCraft2

Discussion of interesting applications and computer games available on the market.
User avatar
SHiNNiNG_FaiTH
Posts: 264
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2008 1:57 am
Realm: US East
Account: SHiNNiNG_FaiTH
Clan: 3ICE
Location: Minnesota, USA
Contact:

StarCraft2

Unread post by SHiNNiNG_FaiTH »

ive been consitering getting SC2 sence warcraft III seems to be dead, however im having troubles desiding. if anybody can would you please take a few screenshots of the editor, in game play, and a custom game it would help me deside alot better xD
APM Spamming mineral fields is fun!
Image

User avatar
EqualiseR
Posts: 177
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2011 2:38 pm
Realm: US East
Account: EqualiseR
Clan: 3ICE

Re: StarCraft2

Unread post by EqualiseR »

I posted this in my "Flying Unit Question" thread but I'm going to post it here also now that I see this thread :)

3ICE, After realizing how dead Wc3 is, and how 99.9% of my old friends quit long ago ( as did I back then ), I am considering buying Sc2 but I would like you to give me some insight on it while I consider it. Also, I would definitely be making maps so can you also tell me how the Sc2 World Editor is compared to Wc3's World Editor as far as triggers go, like do they have a wider range of complex and advanced triggers?

Also, can you upload a copy of your Starcraft 2 Editor if possible? I want to open it just to view the GUI triggers and what not to get an idea of how it is compared to Wc3's Editor. :)

Thanks,
EqualiseR
Image

User avatar
SHiNNiNG_FaiTH
Posts: 264
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2008 1:57 am
Realm: US East
Account: SHiNNiNG_FaiTH
Clan: 3ICE
Location: Minnesota, USA
Contact:

Re: StarCraft2

Unread post by SHiNNiNG_FaiTH »

EqualiseR wrote:
Thanks,
EqualiseR
fuck u equaliser, upstaging me on my own topic..

however i agree it would be nice to take a look at what im gunna be getting into before i waste money or love it, eather way i would like to see something before i jump into a dark room.
APM Spamming mineral fields is fun!
Image

User avatar
EqualiseR
Posts: 177
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2011 2:38 pm
Realm: US East
Account: EqualiseR
Clan: 3ICE

Re: StarCraft2

Unread post by EqualiseR »

upstaging? Yes. That was my evil plan. That was my intention all along! xD

Actually, I just copied and pasted that from my other thread. :)
Image

User avatar
SHiNNiNG_FaiTH
Posts: 264
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2008 1:57 am
Realm: US East
Account: SHiNNiNG_FaiTH
Clan: 3ICE
Location: Minnesota, USA
Contact:

Re: StarCraft2

Unread post by SHiNNiNG_FaiTH »

its ok ill let it slide this time
APM Spamming mineral fields is fun!
Image

User avatar
3ICE
Admin
Posts: 2519
Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2008 11:34 pm
Realm: Europe
Account: 3ICE
Clan: 3ICE
Location: Hungary
Contact:

Re: StarCraft2

Unread post by 3ICE »

I bought SC2 on release day and I don't regret it.
I beat the whole campaign on brutal difficulty and played until I reached rank 1 in multiplayer (ladder/matchmaking/whatever you call it.)
During this process I unlocked 225 achievements for a total of 3000 e-peen points.
Then I quit.

Yes, my PC simply cannot handle SC2 beyond two players 1v1ing.
And if anyone goes over 100 supply, I start to lag and the game becomes unplayable (0 FPS).

I have not released any SC2 maps yet. The editor is laggy.
So StarCraft 2 will be just collecting dust on my desk.
Until I get proper equipment for running, modding, and recording the game.
Basically a new, modern PC.
Deadline: August 30.

What ran WarCraft 3 fine with all settings on maximum, will not run StarCraft 2 even at the lowest settings.

Make sure your PC can run the game before buying. (Try the demo.)

EDIT: WarCraft 3 is not dead. I still play it.
ImageImageImageImageImage
Image
ImageImage

User avatar
EqualiseR
Posts: 177
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2011 2:38 pm
Realm: US East
Account: EqualiseR
Clan: 3ICE

Re: StarCraft2

Unread post by EqualiseR »

I checked the system requirements and my computer surpasses them by far.

Also, could you let me DL the Sc2 World Editor? I just want to personally look at the triggers and get an idea of it to see how similiar the triggers are. :)


EDIT: I never see you online on Wc3 :?
Image

User avatar
3ICE
Admin
Posts: 2519
Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2008 11:34 pm
Realm: Europe
Account: 3ICE
Clan: 3ICE
Location: Hungary
Contact:

Re: StarCraft2

Unread post by 3ICE »

What's wrong with http://www.google.com/search?q=starcraft+2+torrent? Why do you need my editor?

EDIT: Because I hardly have time to play now. In a few weeks school is over, I take my final exams and then I will be able to immerse myself in my hobby again. Starting with 1 month WoW, then 1 month Runescape, then 1 month programming. Or I might mix them up.
ImageImageImageImageImage
Image
ImageImage

User avatar
EqualiseR
Posts: 177
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2011 2:38 pm
Realm: US East
Account: EqualiseR
Clan: 3ICE

Re: StarCraft2

Unread post by EqualiseR »

I already tried finding a Sc2 Editor torrent and I failed miserably.
Image

User avatar
3ICE
Admin
Posts: 2519
Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2008 11:34 pm
Realm: Europe
Account: 3ICE
Clan: 3ICE
Location: Hungary
Contact:

Re: StarCraft2

Unread post by 3ICE »

Please don't tell me you are one of those "How I dl editor plz?" noobs.

You must realize by now that the editor is an integral part of the game, not available separately. (Same as WC3)
How do you expect to run a 5MB editor.exe without the 9GB game-files.mpq to back it up with data?
ImageImageImageImageImage
Image
ImageImage

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests