IPv6

Anything that has something to do with a computer is welcome here.
Darktiger138
Posts: 113
Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2012 2:48 pm
Realm: US East
Account: Darktiger138
Clan: THP
Location: New Zealand

IPv6

Unread post by Darktiger138 »

So, I was in class today and this thing about IP addresses came up, I inquired about IPv6 and found out that it in fact interferes with other aspects of the computer, such as that of the IPv4. I went on to discover that this is in fact what is stopping me from port forwarding, so here comes my question, what do you know about IPv6 and have you ever come across this before?
Spoiler:
Spoiler 1
Spoiler:
Spoiler 2
Spoiler:
Spoiler 3
Spoiler:
Spoiler 4
Spoiler:
Spoiler 5

User avatar
3ICE
Admin
Posts: 2520
Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2008 11:34 pm
Realm: Europe
Account: 3ICE
Clan: 3ICE
Location: Hungary
Contact:

Re: IPv6

Unread post by 3ICE »

Yeah, I switched to the new protocol last year. Video:
ImageImageImageImageImage
Image
ImageImage

Darktiger138
Posts: 113
Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2012 2:48 pm
Realm: US East
Account: Darktiger138
Clan: THP
Location: New Zealand

Re: IPv6

Unread post by Darktiger138 »

Cool, so here comes my next question, do you know how to bypass IPv6?
Spoiler:
Spoiler 1
Spoiler:
Spoiler 2
Spoiler:
Spoiler 3
Spoiler:
Spoiler 4
Spoiler:
Spoiler 5

User avatar
3ICE
Admin
Posts: 2520
Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2008 11:34 pm
Realm: Europe
Account: 3ICE
Clan: 3ICE
Location: Hungary
Contact:

Re: IPv6

Unread post by 3ICE »

Why? You'd only need to bypass it, if it wasn't backwards compatible. But it is. Isn't it?
ImageImageImageImageImage
Image
ImageImage

Darktiger138
Posts: 113
Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2012 2:48 pm
Realm: US East
Account: Darktiger138
Clan: THP
Location: New Zealand

Re: IPv6

Unread post by Darktiger138 »

Wait what, but it's not, because it is seperate from IPv4, which is what the IPv6 is messing with, if it is backwards compatible then why does it say both the IPv4 and IPv6?
Spoiler:
Spoiler 1
Spoiler:
Spoiler 2
Spoiler:
Spoiler 3
Spoiler:
Spoiler 4
Spoiler:
Spoiler 5

User avatar
3ICE
Admin
Posts: 2520
Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2008 11:34 pm
Realm: Europe
Account: 3ICE
Clan: 3ICE
Location: Hungary
Contact:

Re: IPv6

Unread post by 3ICE »

Because ipv4 is not forwards compatible with ipv6? To be honest I don't understand this either. Why would they need both?

Oh maybe because old applications reference ipv4 and would need to be updated to reference ipv6. That could be it.
ImageImageImageImageImage
Image
ImageImage

Darktiger138
Posts: 113
Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2012 2:48 pm
Realm: US East
Account: Darktiger138
Clan: THP
Location: New Zealand

Re: IPv6

Unread post by Darktiger138 »

It's because the world doesn't want to spend a ton of money to replace the switches and hubs, this means that the transition from IPv4 to IPv6 is going to be slow, and yes, IPv4 is still needed in systems to be able to function, and IPv6 is shoved onto newer systems because, well that part's obvious. So it looks like I'm gonna have to hit the books :(

http://www.networkworld.com/news/2009/0 ... stake.html It is in fact, not backwards compatible.
Spoiler:
Spoiler 1
Spoiler:
Spoiler 2
Spoiler:
Spoiler 3
Spoiler:
Spoiler 4
Spoiler:
Spoiler 5

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests