IPv6

Anything that has something to do with a computer is welcome here.

IPv6

New postby Darktiger138 on Wed Aug 15, 2012 10:53 pm

So, I was in class today and this thing about IP addresses came up, I inquired about IPv6 and found out that it in fact interferes with other aspects of the computer, such as that of the IPv4. I went on to discover that this is in fact what is stopping me from port forwarding, so here comes my question, what do you know about IPv6 and have you ever come across this before?
Spoiler:
Spoiler 1
Spoiler:
Spoiler 2
Spoiler:
Spoiler 3
Spoiler:
Spoiler 4
Spoiler:
Spoiler 5
Darktiger138
 
Posts: 113
Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2012 2:48 pm
Location: New Zealand
Realm: US East
Account: Darktiger138
Clan: THP

Re: IPv6

New postby 3ICE on Thu Aug 16, 2012 3:20 am

Yeah, I switched to the new protocol last year. Video:
ImageImageImageImageImage
Image
ImageImage
User avatar
3ICE
Admin
 
Posts: 2126
Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2008 11:34 pm
Location: Hungary
Realm: US East
Account: 3ICE
Clan: 3ICE

Re: IPv6

New postby Darktiger138 on Thu Aug 16, 2012 1:59 pm

Cool, so here comes my next question, do you know how to bypass IPv6?
Spoiler:
Spoiler 1
Spoiler:
Spoiler 2
Spoiler:
Spoiler 3
Spoiler:
Spoiler 4
Spoiler:
Spoiler 5
Darktiger138
 
Posts: 113
Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2012 2:48 pm
Location: New Zealand
Realm: US East
Account: Darktiger138
Clan: THP

Re: IPv6

New postby 3ICE on Thu Aug 16, 2012 2:35 pm

Why? You'd only need to bypass it, if it wasn't backwards compatible. But it is. Isn't it?
ImageImageImageImageImage
Image
ImageImage
User avatar
3ICE
Admin
 
Posts: 2126
Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2008 11:34 pm
Location: Hungary
Realm: US East
Account: 3ICE
Clan: 3ICE

Re: IPv6

New postby Darktiger138 on Thu Aug 16, 2012 5:05 pm

Wait what, but it's not, because it is seperate from IPv4, which is what the IPv6 is messing with, if it is backwards compatible then why does it say both the IPv4 and IPv6?
Spoiler:
Spoiler 1
Spoiler:
Spoiler 2
Spoiler:
Spoiler 3
Spoiler:
Spoiler 4
Spoiler:
Spoiler 5
Darktiger138
 
Posts: 113
Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2012 2:48 pm
Location: New Zealand
Realm: US East
Account: Darktiger138
Clan: THP

Re: IPv6

New postby 3ICE on Fri Aug 17, 2012 5:10 am

Because ipv4 is not forwards compatible with ipv6? To be honest I don't understand this either. Why would they need both?

Oh maybe because old applications reference ipv4 and would need to be updated to reference ipv6. That could be it.
ImageImageImageImageImage
Image
ImageImage
User avatar
3ICE
Admin
 
Posts: 2126
Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2008 11:34 pm
Location: Hungary
Realm: US East
Account: 3ICE
Clan: 3ICE

Re: IPv6

New postby Darktiger138 on Fri Aug 17, 2012 5:47 am

It's because the world doesn't want to spend a ton of money to replace the switches and hubs, this means that the transition from IPv4 to IPv6 is going to be slow, and yes, IPv4 is still needed in systems to be able to function, and IPv6 is shoved onto newer systems because, well that part's obvious. So it looks like I'm gonna have to hit the books :(

http://www.networkworld.com/news/2009/0 ... stake.html It is in fact, not backwards compatible.
Spoiler:
Spoiler 1
Spoiler:
Spoiler 2
Spoiler:
Spoiler 3
Spoiler:
Spoiler 4
Spoiler:
Spoiler 5
Darktiger138
 
Posts: 113
Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2012 2:48 pm
Location: New Zealand
Realm: US East
Account: Darktiger138
Clan: THP


Return to Everything Else



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron