Page 3 of 5

Re: "No turning ice" problem

Posted: Wed Aug 05, 2009 9:49 am
by 3ICE
manstie wrote:better
No, why?

Re: "No turning ice" problem

Posted: Sat Aug 08, 2009 11:02 am
by manstie
Because you are both pwnage.

And I'm quite fine using GUI... I just don't see why the GUI doesn't just use non-bj JASS...

My jumpers are fucking up :x

I've got:
Jumper1
Events
Unit - A unit comes within range of PlayerUnits[1]
Conditions
(Unit-type of (Triggering unit)) Equal to (==) Jumper
Actions
Animation - Change PlayerUnits[1] flying height to 350.00 at 500.00
Wait 0.90 seconds
Animation - Change PlayerUnits[1] flying height to 5.00 at 500.00
Wait 0.05 seconds
Animation - Change PlayerUnits[1] flying height to 0.00 at 500.00

(Yes, my units are air)
It isn't working :(

Re: "No turning ice" problem

Posted: Sun Aug 09, 2009 4:03 am
by samtre
If it can't work, try to do the other way around

from:
Events
Unit - A unit comes within range of PlayerUnits[1]
Conditions
(Unit-type of (Triggering unit)) Equal to (==) Jumper
Actions
Animation - Change PlayerUnits[1] flying height to 350.00 at 500.00
Wait 0.90 seconds
Animation - Change PlayerUnits[1] flying height to 5.00 at 500.00
Wait 0.05 seconds
Animation - Change PlayerUnits[1] flying height to 0.00 at 500.00
to:
Trigger - Melee Initialization
Actions - Pick Every Unit of Jumper in Playable Map Area and Add Event to Jumper1 A unit comes within range of Picked Unit(s)
Trigger - Jumper 1
Events
Conditions
(Unit-type of (Triggering unit)) Equal to (==) (Unit-type of PlayerUnits[1])
Actions
Animation - Change PlayerUnits[1] flying height to 350.00 at 500.00
Wait 0.90 seconds
Animation - Change PlayerUnits[1] flying height to 5.00 at 500.00
Wait 0.05 seconds
Animation - Change PlayerUnits[1] flying height to 0.00 at 500.00
or
1)it might be your PlayerUnits[1] equals to No Unit
2)Your unit's movement type is not a Flying Unit (recheck)
3)maybe you could change your Jumpers collision size to about 0.01?lol or 10 or so, the unit's collision size collides with ground units, so maybe you need to change the collision size a bit.

and manstie, in your Within Range post, i already gave you an example that 3ICE told you..... create 2 triggers, 1 trigger is to select all units of type or ALL units in playable map area and add a trigger Action - Event - Add Event - A unit comes within range of Picked Unit in Jumper1

Re: "No turning ice" problem

Posted: Mon Aug 10, 2009 9:51 am
by 3ICE
manstie wrote:Animation - Change PlayerUnits[1] flying height to 350.00 at 500.00
Why 500? Do you even understand what that field is for?
samtre wrote:1)it might be your PlayerUnits[1] equals to No Unit
Exactly. Excellent thinking!
samtre wrote:3)maybe you could change your Jumpers collision size to about 0.01?lol or 10 or so, the unit's collision size collides with ground units, so maybe you need to change the collision size a bit.
Stupid, stupid stupid!

Re: "No turning ice" problem

Posted: Tue Aug 11, 2009 6:33 am
by samtre
500 rate, does it mean by 500 per second? lol, or 500% per second

p.s. am i really that stupid?

Re: "No turning ice" problem

Posted: Thu Aug 13, 2009 9:00 pm
by manstie
Well I put it at 500 because I tried lower and it just flew up really slow.
(No, I don't know what that field is for :( )
PlayerUnit[1] is = a unit.
I did a show text thing and it said it was my unit that was set to playerunit[1]
samtre wrote:(Unit-type of (Triggering unit)) Equal to (==) (Unit-type of PlayerUnits[1])
Does Triggering Unit work for the unit that "the jumper came within range to"?

For some reason... It was working before... (I haven't upgraded to 1.24 yet though)

Re: "No turning ice" problem

Posted: Fri Aug 14, 2009 4:54 am
by 3ICE
manstie wrote:PlayerUnit[1] is = a unit.
Wrong. Arrays are only initialized after event registration is complete. You told the trigger at event init to watch units coming close to null. PlayerUnit[1] was null when the game started. It only gets assigned to a value on map init, which happens after event init.
manstie wrote:Does Triggering Unit work for the unit that "the jumper came within range to"?
Yes, if the event is registered for the jumper.
manstie wrote:It was working before... (I haven't upgraded to 1.24 yet though)
You messed it up yourself. By the way there has been nothing in patches for a long while that could break maps like yours. All recent patches have done nothing with the editor. 1.24 is the first editor patch in years. And it's change only affects the return bug.

Re: "No turning ice" problem

Posted: Fri Aug 14, 2009 6:41 am
by manstie
Ohhhhhh! So I have to add the event via triggers after it is set? I see.

Still didn't work.
What if... I put it in time elapsed...
Nope, that didn't work.

Can you look at it and try and fix it? :)

Re: "No turning ice" problem

Posted: Sat Aug 15, 2009 12:27 pm
by samtre
manstie, i fixed it......gawd.....it's just too easy..........no offence...although i might not be better than you, but it sure is good to know something......

i'm remaking my slide and die map, i'm gonna add manstie (or mine) jumpers, to it, and i'm putting ALL of the 3ice community member's name in as hero names......

i have improved my AI system, i made them to return fire when you attacked them. Now the only thing i need is to fix my projectile system to a lag-free version..... because when your flying using jumpers, you can't get hit.....

and:
samtre
(Unit-type of (Triggering unit)) Equal to (==) (Unit-type of PlayerUnits[1])
Does Triggering Unit work for the unit that "the jumper came within range to"?
yes it does, it checks whether the triggering unit is the unit type of playerunits[1]
but it is used for other players to check whether their hero are same as player 1, to use it to check whether it's true that triggering unit (player2) equals to the unit type of playerunits[1](player1)

Boosters: I have tried making a booster by using
Boosters
-- Events
-- Conditions
- ((Triggering unit) is A Hero) Equal to True
- Player_Boosting[(Player number of (Owner of (Triggering unit)))] Equal to False
- (Unit-type of (Triggering unit)) Equal to Ice Skater
-- Actions
- Set Player_Boosting[(Player number of (Owner of (Triggering unit)))] = True
- Special Effect - Destroy Player_Special_Effect[(Player number of (Owner of (Triggering unit)))]
- Special Effect - Create a special effect attached to the origin of (Triggering unit) using Abilities\Spells\Orc\EtherealForm\SpiritWalkerChange.mdl
- Set Player_Special_Effect[(Player number of (Owner of (Triggering unit)))] = (Last created special effect)
- Unit - Set (Triggering unit) movement speed to 522.00
- For each (Integer A) from 1 to 200, do (Actions)
- - Loop - Actions
- - - Wait 0.01 seconds
- - - Unit - Move (Triggering unit) instantly to ((Position of (Triggering unit)) offset by 10.00 towards (Facing of (Triggering unit)) degrees)
- Wait 1.00 seconds
- Set Player_Boosting[(Player number of (Owner of (Triggering unit)))] = False
but you may not be able to cast skills

Re: "No turning ice" problem

Posted: Mon Aug 17, 2009 5:40 am
by manstie
3ICE said to be able to use skills on his ice, you have to activate realistic mode.
3ICE also said that for boosters, his system needs to be re-written forgroup instead of loop.

Ahh its always like that... When someone does triggers and another person looks at them, they have no idea of what the maker is actually intending to do. Your fix on my initialization has basically screwed up my whole picking system and start.

-May have been easy to fix for you but in doing that, it screws over my entire map.

Although - thanks to your idea... It's fixed now. ;)

Oh yea - with slide and die, I tried playing that, but after the start it asked for a game mode. None of them worked / we knew none.