Battle Footmen Ar

You can submit your maps here. Both finished and unfinished submissions are welcome.
Finished maps:
• Submitting your own map(s):
One map per topic please! (Or we will have a hard time finding out which comment is for which map)
You can leave your Username@Realm so people can contact you in game. (eg.: 3ICE@USEast, 3ICE@Northrend)
Write a description and don't forget to post some screenshots. (Images and videos are worth a thousand words)
• Submitting a map not made by you:
Do not claim it as yours. We'll find it out (sooner or later) anyway.
Ask the maker to submit it himself is possible.
Or at least let the maker know that his map has a topic here, so he can benefit from your comments and bug reports. (Or request the thread be deleted for whatever reason*.)

Unfinished maps:
You are welcome to post your unfinished maps here and ask for help.
We will look at the map and tell you whats wrong with it or how to continue editing it.

Projects:
Important/cool maps and big projects will have their own forum category inside. (Like the 3ICE's Maze Designer category)

Battle Footmen Ar

New postby I_H8_U_M8 on Tue Jul 29, 2008 7:17 am

Map Version (4.2)
COMING NEXT
Will be making all heroes abilities up to lvl 9 and all ultimates to lvl 3
Will Make More Shops
I will need to balence after creating hero abilities and ultimates
Will make New Heroes
Will make more tiers

UPDATE ZONE
---------------------------------------------------------------
(1)Fixed yellows gate Problem
Made Units Auto Spawn
Made a new Mini map pic
cleaned up unwanted add on added on by weu
Fixed Quest menu
---------------------------------------------------------------
(2)
Extras fixed
(rally and spawn)
---------------------------------------------------------------
(3)
Added -count comand
Fixed so things in object editor
deleted leet cheat
deleted -quest commnd
added a permanent quet
added 3ICE'S tree triger
Extras
---------------------------------------------------------------
(4)
Fixed The uber Lag problem
Redone hero triggers/setup
added attack point button
Extras

---------------------------------------------------------------
DOWNLOADS APROX.

Over (5000) for (9) submited maps + (over 1500 dls from bnet)
---------------------------------------------------------------
To dl Goto
http://www.epicwar.com/maps/63459/
Last edited by I_H8_U_M8 on Mon Aug 11, 2008 1:58 am, edited 5 times in total.
User avatar
I_H8_U_M8
 
Posts: 134
Joined: Wed Jul 02, 2008 5:57 pm
Location: Canada

Re: Battle Footmen Ar

New postby I_H8_U_M8 on Wed Aug 06, 2008 1:55 am

I want some opinions of my game just post em' here
User avatar
I_H8_U_M8
 
Posts: 134
Joined: Wed Jul 02, 2008 5:57 pm
Location: Canada

Re: Battle Footmen Ar

New postby 3ICE on Wed Aug 06, 2008 4:45 am

Sorry but this post is only listing errors, so it might sound a bit negative.

I don't like the custom minimap idea at all. It hides the terrain and some players gain huge advantage from their colors not being visible on the picture. You should only change the Minimap Display Picture and not the Minimap.
There seem to be two instances of an invalid unit placed, west from red's base.
You are still using "ImageDoNothing", even though I have notified you about it already in an older thread.
You are still using long commands, nobody is going to type out, even though I have notified you about it already in an older thread.
You are still using too many triggers for Visibility initialization, even thought I have notified you about it already in an older thread. (Stuff them all in one trigger, would ya?)
You should remove the gold cheat.
That is not the way how you create quests. Use the event "ImageMap Initialization"
If you were smart enough to use a player group for panning the camera, why not do it for setting the xp rate too?
Or you could just set it in Gameplay Constants, which is a lot better idea.
You should improve the player init. It has two player group calls, one for removing the player and one for setting starting gold and turning bounty on. You could do all three things in one player group call, creating less memory leaks and decreasing lag.
Still in player init, you have 9 totally equal actions in the same player group call. This is useless, delete 8 of them.
Tree respawning is solved in a very bad way. Learn about locals and then use the following structure:
Event:
A destructable dies
Actions: (use custom script, one per line)
local destructable d=GetDyingDestructable()
call TriggerSleepAction(20)
call CreateDestructable('[[[[whatever your trees rawcode is]]]]',GetDestructableX(d),GetDestructableY(d),0,1,-1)
call RemoveDestructable(d)
set d=null
ImageImageImageImageImage
Image
ImageImage
User avatar
3ICE
Admin
 
Posts: 2357
Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2008 11:34 pm
Location: Hungary
Realm: US East
Account: 3ICE
Clan: 3ICE

Re: Battle Footmen Ar

New postby I_H8_U_M8 on Wed Aug 06, 2008 12:31 pm

Ok Don't get the tree thing but Ty
I know how to make a Quest menu But I would Prefer To keep -questBecause People enjoy seeing there name pop up in the thnkyou. ;p;
Um ya I see whtur saying About the xp rate Wasn't thinking bout it just trying to the the thing that required less thought...
Gold cheat Ya i Was lready wanting to delet it cause Well none know it so I have for my next ver (NOT 3.5)
And the tree thing was also a lazy thing
Um if you like Cheak out my timers and Cold you c if they r ok
as I have said in the pas im not good with vars and const
Anyways Ty
User avatar
I_H8_U_M8
 
Posts: 134
Joined: Wed Jul 02, 2008 5:57 pm
Location: Canada

Re: Battle Footmen Ar

New postby 3ICE on Wed Aug 06, 2008 1:18 pm

Didn't pay close enough attention at the quests sry :)

Anyway I think you will love me for this:
You can have new lines in the quest by inserting \n (or |n) at where you want to hit enter.

===Quests===
You don't need to have so many concatenations either, just merge all those into one.
eg: instead of ( Made By : I_H8_U_M8 + ( Game Commands: + (-Quest + (-Turn report On/Off + GL&HF))))))
use: ( Made By : I_H8_U_M8 Game Commands: -Quest -Turn report On/Off + GL&HF)
and with the added linebreaks: ( Made By : I_H8_U_M8\nGame Commands:|n-Quest\n-Turn report On/Off\n|nGL&HF)
(I'm too lazy to test which one of the two (\n or |n) works, it could be either, none or both, so be sure to test them!)
Also the blue color on black background at 100% contrast 50% brightness and 1.2 gamma is not visible! Change it to red, or lightblue.

Here is why the tree respawn is bad:
Image
as you can see, your trigger spams trees all over the map wherever doodads are. Which makes: lag and double, triple quadruple or even quintuple trees on the same spot.

Also, Teir is correctly spelled as TIER...
TEIR means "Texas Employers for Immigration Reform" which I don't think you want to include in your map :P

That's all for today.

p.s.: Here is some JASS code I have written up for you:
Code: Select all
function d takes nothing returns nothing
local destructable gg_dest_d=GetDyingDestructable()
if(GetDestructableTypeId(gg_dest_d)=='ATtr')then
call TriggerSleepAction(2)
call DestructableRestoreLife(gg_dest_d,100,true)
endif
set gg_dest_d=null
endfunction
function InitTrig_d takes nothing returns nothing
set gg_trg_d=CreateTrigger()
call TriggerRegisterDestDeathInRegionEvent(gg_trg_d,bj_mapInitialPlayableArea)
call TriggerAddAction(gg_trg_d,function d)
endfunction
Do:
Navigate to your tree respawn trigger
delete it
create a new trigger
name it "d" (just one lowercase letter of d, nothing fancy :))
navigate to: EDIT -- > CONVERT to Custom Text (or hit ALT+E+X)
replace the contents with the above code.
It will work, cause no lag and you will not need to understand or modify it at all.

By the way, that entire tree respawn trigger is useless as you have no trees in the map, and they are set to invulnerable too. So what's the point :?
Last edited by 3ICE on Wed Aug 06, 2008 1:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: fixed d -> gg_dest_d
ImageImageImageImageImage
Image
ImageImage
User avatar
3ICE
Admin
 
Posts: 2357
Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2008 11:34 pm
Location: Hungary
Realm: US East
Account: 3ICE
Clan: 3ICE

Re: Battle Footmen Ar

New postby I_H8_U_M8 on Fri Aug 08, 2008 1:23 am

Thak you for the nice tree trigger but...
When you Revive the tree it isn't classified a tree any more
so wheni try using the spell summon trent spell it doesnt work when treesare revived
If you know how to reclassify the tree as a tree then That would makt the trigger great.
New version is posted at top
User avatar
I_H8_U_M8
 
Posts: 134
Joined: Wed Jul 02, 2008 5:57 pm
Location: Canada

Re: Battle Footmen Ar

New postby 3ICE on Fri Aug 08, 2008 12:38 pm

Here is the new function, replace the old with this:
Code: Select all
function d takes nothing returns nothing
local destructable gg_dest_d=GetDyingDestructable()
local real x=GetDestructableX(gg_dest_d)
local real y=GetDestructableY(gg_dest_d)
if(GetDestructableTypeId(gg_dest_d)=='ATtr')then
call TriggerSleepAction(2)
call RemoveDestructable(gg_dest_d)
call CreateDestructable('ATtr',x,y,0,1,-1)
endif
set gg_dest_d=null
endfunction
function InitTrig_d takes nothing returns nothing
set gg_trg_d=CreateTrigger()
call TriggerRegisterDestDeathInRegionEvent(gg_trg_d,bj_mapInitialPlayableArea)
call TriggerAddAction(gg_trg_d,function d)
endfunction
The fix is that instead of restoring the destructable, we remove it and spawn a new one.
ImageImageImageImageImage
Image
ImageImage
User avatar
3ICE
Admin
 
Posts: 2357
Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2008 11:34 pm
Location: Hungary
Realm: US East
Account: 3ICE
Clan: 3ICE

Re: Battle Footmen Ar

New postby 3ICE on Tue Jul 03, 2018 4:44 pm

Broken image above has been simply moved to http://static.3ice.hu/images/BattleFoot ... ateBug.jpg

Image
ImageImageImageImageImage
Image
ImageImage
User avatar
3ICE
Admin
 
Posts: 2357
Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2008 11:34 pm
Location: Hungary
Realm: US East
Account: 3ICE
Clan: 3ICE


Return to Map Vault



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 16 guests

cron