How to make "Boosters"/"Jumpers"?

The perfect one step solution for creating Ice/Sliding Mazes in both Reign of Chaos and The Frozen Throne. It is the only decent system around and it even works in RoC, is lagfree, perfectly optimized, fast and reliable. The included TerrainKill feature frees you from the tedious task of creating a thousand kill-regions.
User avatar
manstie
Posts: 310
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2009 9:27 am
Account: manstie
Location: Perth, Australia
Contact:

Re: How to make "Boosters"/"Jumpers"?

Unread post by manstie »

3ICE wrote:Fly height is available in GUI.
I'm glad you decided to do it.
Echem:
3ICE wrote:EDIT: Jumpers are easy, set the DH's fly height to however high you want them to jump, then set it back to 0.
Manstie wrote:And this will cancel out the snow killing then while they are flying? (and is it possible in gui?)
3ICE wrote:GUI? Don't make me laugh.
You liar!
--- :?: :!: Um okay a little bug up there. The post seems to be fine tho :shock: ---

Edited by 3ICE: You had your quote tags all fucked up. I fixed them for you.
Edited by manstie: What the hell? I saw nothing wrong with those quote tags, I swear!..
Edited by 3ICE: Well, now they are all good. You had their order wrong and a missing "]" I also removed a lot of enters.
Hey! You removed the main quote that actually made my post make sense for saying "You liar"!!!
I didn't remove anything. And you could add it back anyway. I allow unlimited editing.
Okay this is getting confusing. There was a mix up in what I meant as well. When I said "Is it possible in GUI?" I mean is it possible to change the height in GUI.
Last edited by manstie on Sun Jun 28, 2009 10:44 am, edited 3 times in total.
Image

User avatar
3ICE
Admin
Posts: 2629
Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2008 11:34 pm
Realm: Europe
Account: 3ICE
Clan: 3ICE
Location: Hungary
Contact:

Re: How to make "Boosters"/"Jumpers"?

Unread post by 3ICE »

I don't see any problems there (apart from your fucked up quote tags).

EDIT: Setting fly height is available in GUI. Checking fly height requires an edit to my Sliding System though.
ImageImageImageImageImage
Image
ImageImage

User avatar
manstie
Posts: 310
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2009 9:27 am
Account: manstie
Location: Perth, Australia
Contact:

Re: How to make "Boosters"/"Jumpers"?

Unread post by manstie »

Well, there is only one thing I'm stuck at.
3ICE wrote:You need to rewrite my sliding system to use a loop instead of forgroup.
:|
Image

User avatar
3ICE
Admin
Posts: 2629
Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2008 11:34 pm
Realm: Europe
Account: 3ICE
Clan: 3ICE
Location: Hungary
Contact:

Re: How to make "Boosters"/"Jumpers"?

Unread post by 3ICE »

Yes, that's a tough one :) Good luck.
ImageImageImageImageImage
Image
ImageImage

User avatar
manstie
Posts: 310
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2009 9:27 am
Account: manstie
Location: Perth, Australia
Contact:

Re: How to make "Boosters"/"Jumpers"?

Unread post by manstie »

Good Luck!?
:oops:

EDIT: vvv --- Then isn't that what MSN is for? :lol: --- vvv
Last edited by manstie on Sun Jun 28, 2009 11:21 am, edited 2 times in total.
Image

User avatar
3ICE
Admin
Posts: 2629
Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2008 11:34 pm
Realm: Europe
Account: 3ICE
Clan: 3ICE
Location: Hungary
Contact:

Re: How to make "Boosters"/"Jumpers"?

Unread post by 3ICE »

Yeah. Let's not spam one liners.
ImageImageImageImageImage
Image
ImageImage

User avatar
manstie
Posts: 310
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2009 9:27 am
Account: manstie
Location: Perth, Australia
Contact:

Re: How to make "Boosters"/"Jumpers"?

Unread post by manstie »

Yeah, okay, just one question.
By loop do you mean:
t_ugr
t_jbm t_act Loop
t_emp t_jbm

(Hey, you know on The Hive Workshop, there is a really cool thing about it. You can copy to text, your triggers and paste it in a [ trigger ] bla [ /trigger ] and it automatically makes the pictures and gaps etc...
I'm sure you could make such a thing, with your smart mind :P)
Image

User avatar
3ICE
Admin
Posts: 2629
Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2008 11:34 pm
Realm: Europe
Account: 3ICE
Clan: 3ICE
Location: Hungary
Contact:

Re: How to make "Boosters"/"Jumpers"?

Unread post by 3ICE »

Yes, but my sliding system is not in GUI, so I actually meant JASS code:
loop
    exitwhen (condition)
    (sliding code comes here)
endloop
manstie wrote:I'm sure you could make such a thing, with your smart mind
I already have. We don't use it much though.

EDIT: You can try it out here: 3ICE's Trigger Parser. (It is not finished, but very close to perfect.) There is a News post about it too, here.
ImageImageImageImageImage
Image
ImageImage

User avatar
manstie
Posts: 310
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2009 9:27 am
Account: manstie
Location: Perth, Australia
Contact:

Re: How to make "Boosters"/"Jumpers"?

Unread post by manstie »

3ICE wrote:
loop
    exitwhen (condition)
    (sliding code comes here)
endloop
So, where is the forgroup part? I feel so stupid :oops:

Code: Select all

    if(t==udg_Slide)or(t==udg_Slide2)or(t==udg_Slide4)then
		call SetUnitX(u,x+udg_Speed*Cos(0.017453278*GetUnitFacing(u)))
		call SetUnitY(u,y+udg_Speed*Sin(0.017453278*GetUnitFacing(u)))

//Delete this line for the cool Realistic Sliding Mode (Between START1 and END1)
//START1
		call IssueImmediateOrder(u,"stop")
//END1

//Delete these two lines to remove terrainkill (Between START2 and END2)
//START2
	elseif(t==udg_TerrainKill)and(GetUnitState(u,UNIT_STATE_LIFE)>0)then
		call KillUnit(u)
//END2

	endif
    if(t==udg_Slide3)then
		call SetUnitX(u,x+udg_Speed2*Cos(0.017453278*GetUnitFacing(u)))
		call SetUnitY(u,y+udg_Speed2*Sin(0.017453278*GetUnitFacing(u)))

//Delete this line for the cool Realistic Sliding Mode (Between START1 and END1)
//START1
		call IssueImmediateOrder(u,"stop")
//END1

//Delete these two lines to remove terrainkill (Between START2 and END2)
//START2
	elseif(t==udg_TerrainKill)and(GetUnitState(u,UNIT_STATE_LIFE)>0)then
		call KillUnit(u)
//END2

	endif
Do I put that into the loop? :(

And is this the condition for if the units flying height is lower than 0? (GetUnitFlyHeight<0)

AND WHY IS THE EVENT AT THE BOTTOM OF THE JASS? :evil:
Image

User avatar
3ICE
Admin
Posts: 2629
Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2008 11:34 pm
Realm: Europe
Account: 3ICE
Clan: 3ICE
Location: Hungary
Contact:

Re: How to make "Boosters"/"Jumpers"?

Unread post by 3ICE »

manstie wrote:So, where is the forgroup part? I feel so stupid
Instead of ForGroup, you use loop.
manstie wrote:Do I put that into the loop?
No. Rewrite is not like copy&paste.
manstie wrote:And is this the condition for if the units flying height is lower than 0? (GetUnitFlyHeight<0)
Yes. Syntax error.
manstie wrote:AND WHY IS THE EVENT AT THE BOTTOM OF THE JASS?
Convert any GUI trigger to JASS and you will see they all have their events at the bottom. This is how JASS was designed. I find it logical. First we provide the (function) that is to be executed upon (event), then we tell war3 that upon (event), execute (function). We can't link an (event) to a not-yet-existing (function).
ImageImageImageImageImage
Image
ImageImage

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 66 guests