Page 1 of 2

Please make a non-jass version

Posted: Sat Jan 31, 2009 5:00 am
by Maxximus
Please make a trigger version of the JASS in it so i can read it.
I don't get how it works...

Re: Please make a non-jass version

Posted: Sat Jan 31, 2009 12:29 pm
by 3ICE
A GUI version would be slow, laggy, and inefficient. I will not make one.

There exist a GUI sliding trigger, buried very very deep, somewhere out in the unknown...
Find LimiteR's sliding demo map!
It is slow, laggy, and inefficient. But hey, that's GUI for you!

Re: Please make a non-jass version

Posted: Sat Jan 31, 2009 9:26 pm
by Maxximus
well with that, cant you make it trigger version, then i will just transfer it back to jass when i get how it works?
Why would it lag a lot when its not in jass?
i only want it because i don't want it to die on snow, i want to put the regions down, because the 1 trigger way to kill on snow doesn't work with diagonals...
are you not doing it because you don't want people to know how to do the trigger, only having to copy n paste it... :cry:
maybe your just lying...
I made a maze without making the 1 trigger kill (i did all of the regions) and it didn't lag when it was plain.

Re: Please make a non-jass version

Posted: Sun Feb 01, 2009 1:28 am
by 3ICE
There never existed a GUI version of my sliding system. I wrote it in JASS, because GUI is inefficient.
Maybe you should TRY reading JASS instead of saying you can't.

I don't know what is so hard to understand in this:

Code: Select all

//Delete these two lines to remove terrainkill (Between START2 and END2)
//START2
	elseif(t==udg_TerrainKill)and(GetUnitState(u,UNIT_STATE_LIFE)>0)then
		call KillUnit(u)
//END2
becomes:

Code: Select all

//Delete these two lines to remove terrainkill (Between START2 and END2)
//START2
//END2
or even

Code: Select all

//Delete these two lines to remove terrainkill (Between START2 and END2)
or even[/size]Because you can delete comments. They do nothing except explain things to the human reader. Computers ignore comments.

Re: Please make a non-jass version

Posted: Fri Feb 06, 2009 8:54 am
by Maxximus
are you saying that in jass you can do a fuck load more complex things with it...
but isn't it exactly like GUI triggers?!

Re: Please make a non-jass version

Posted: Sat Feb 07, 2009 4:06 am
by 3ICE
Yeah JASS is a lot more advanced than GUI.
You can't do much at all with just GUI. Real mappers use JASS (and vJASS).

When you convert a GUI trigger to JASS, that doesn't improve anything. But once you learn and understand JASS, a new world will open up and you will never use GUI again. Check this map for example:
3ICE's JASS is better than GUI.w3x
(34.05 KiB) Downloaded 434 times

Re: Please make a non-jass version

Posted: Thu Jun 18, 2009 2:07 am
by manstie
Huh? I downloaded that map, i did -gui for over 5 minutes and my fps didn't go lower than 10 nor did it crash. :roll:

Re: Please make a non-jass version

Posted: Thu Jun 18, 2009 2:46 am
by 3ICE
Too good computers can do that. Try it on a Pentium 3 with less than 512MB ram.

Re: Please make a non-jass version

Posted: Fri Jun 19, 2009 6:10 am
by manstie
3ICE wrote:Too good computers can do that. Try it on a Pentium 3 with less than 512MB ram.
But, but, but, but, but, but, but, my Laptop is a School Laptop and it can't even run games like counterstrike source and portal (and is really laggy on all low gfx World of Warcraft (which I don't play anymore)).
These are my computer stats...
TOSHIBA
MTOS010ATH01
Genuine Intel(R) CPU
T2050 @ 1.60GHz
798 MHz, 0.99 GB of RAM

Whichever computers crash with -gui would probably be made in 1995 :roll:

Re: Please make a non-jass version

Posted: Sat Jun 20, 2009 9:52 am
by 3ICE
Right. I'm going to need a better example to fully prove my point then.

Although you must admit that the JASS version lets you stay at a higher FPS rate.

Crashing your Warcraft will be much more persuading than making it lag a little. :D

EDIT: wtf... 1GB ram and 1.6GHz CPU are more than enough for playing memory leaking warcraft maps for hours. Don't expect any lag with that beast! I made the map with max 256MB ram in mind. You have four times more than that.